3 biggest wins (by runs) in IPL history

In an attempt to go full throttle, there are times when a batting unit implodes at the IPL. This is when the opposition finds a place in IPL history, in the list of biggest wins. 

140 runs, KKR vs RCB, IPL 2008

Interestingly, the third biggest win in IPL history came in the very first encounter of the tournament. Brendon McCullum shredded the RCB bowling attack into bits in the inaugural match of the IPL as Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) registered a 140-run victory.

Batting first, KKR scored 61 runs in the power play with McCullum going all guns blazing. McCullum brought up his ton, the first in the history of the IPL, off just 53 deliveries. When the innings ended, the Kiwi was unbeaten on 158 runs off just 73 balls, including 10 fours and 13 sixes.

Chasing a mammoth score of 223, the RCB batting line-up was blown away as they were bowled out for just 82 runs. Kolkata won the match by a massive margin of 140 runs to start with a bang.

144 runs, RCB vs GL, IPL 2016

Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers struck centuries against Gujarat Lions in IPL 2016 to register the second biggest win in IPL history. On the back of top performances from Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers, RCB beat Gujarat Lions (GL) by 144 runs.

After losing Chris Gayle early, Kohli and de Villiers took big hitting to another level in the last 10 overs. Kohli was finally dismissed on the second-last ball of the match on 109 runs off 55 deliveries, with 5 fours and 8 sixes.

De Villiers ended up with an unbeaten 129 off 52 balls, laced with 10 fours and 12 sixes. The pair’s 229-run partnership took RCB to 248/3. Expectedly, the Gujarat Lions were bowled out for 104 runs.

146 runs, MI vs DC, IPL 2017

The record for the biggest win (by runs) in IPL history is held by Mumbai Indians who beat Delhi Capitals (Delhi Daredevils at the time) by 146 runs in IPL 2017.

Blitz from Kieron Pollard (63* off 35 deliveries, 5 fours, 4 sixes) and Hardik Pandya (29 off 14 balls, 1 four, 3 sixes) pummelled MI to 212/3.

In reply, the Delhi innings folded up for a shocking 66 runs as MI registered a massive 146-run victory in 2017, and the record still stands.

Back to top button