Best IndyCar Drivers of all Time

Recognized as the Indy 500, the famous motorsport competition has given birth to several legends since 1911

IndyCar, Indy 500 or the Indianapolis 500 is a famous motorsport competition in North America. While the cars share an eerie resemblance to F1 cars, the performance of the machines taking part in the Indy 500 is downtrodden because of certain mechanical differences when compared to the F1 machines. Nonetheless, it is one of the favourite motorsport competitions in the world that has given birth to numerous legends over its 115 years of history. In this piece, we have listed the best IndyCar drivers of all time.

A.J Foyt- A.J Foyt was a regular Indy 500 racer between 1958 and 1993, with four Indy 500 wins. Honoured as the American Driver of the Century, Foyt picked up 67 National wins during his career along with a NASCAR Daytona (1972), the 24 hours of Daytona on two occasions and the 24 Hours of Le Mans once. Anthony Joseph Foyt also picked up two championship titles and one Indy 500 race as a team owner.

Mario Andretti- It’s surprising that a Formula One champion left the F1 world to take part in the Indy, but Mario Andretti created a legacy in the history of American motorsport. The Italian racer competed in the USAC National Championship from 1964, winning 52 races. Andretti also earned the Daytona 500 in 1967 and the Indianapolis 500 in 1969.

Al Unser- Created the record of the oldest Indy 500 winner, Al Unser is another racer in the sport’s history to pick up four titles. His first two Indy 500 titles came in 1970 and 1971. Unser won the third title in 1978 for team Chaparral. His last title was accomplished in 1987 when Unser was summoned to replace Danny Ongais who got injured in a race while driving for Team Penske Racing.

Bobby Unser- Brother of Al Unser, Bobby was five years older than Al, who secured three Indianapolis 500 titles in his racing career. Bobby Unser won his first Indy 500 in 1968 and a rain-shortened Indy in 1975. His third title came in 1981, but he was stripped of the title because of a rule infraction. However, he won back the title after a five-month lawsuit. This incident was one of the most controversial incidents in the history of the Indianapolis 500.

Back to top button