Published By: Admin

BuzzRanked! Virat Kohli to Mohammed Nabi, a Look at Five Players With the Most Man of the Match Award in T20s

The men have led their teams to victory in the most explosive ways!

Cricket has undergone significant transformations over the years. Traditional Test matches were first reduced to 60-over games, then to 50-over matches, and eventually to the dynamic Twenty20 format. The excitement and fast pace of Twenty20 cricket have immensely boosted the sport's popularity. While batters have become increasingly aggressive, bowlers have also displayed their brilliance in this format. However, the true stars of T20Is are the all-rounders, whose value has skyrocketed. In this article, we will explore the top 5 players who have earned the most Man of the Match awards in T20Is. Unsurprisingly, three of these outstanding players are all-rounders!

Rohit Sharma 

Rohit Sharma, known as the Hitman of cricket, ranks fifth among players with the most Man of the Match awards in T20Is. Debuting in 2007 against England, he impressed with an unbeaten 50 in the T20 World Cup quarter-final against South Africa and a crucial 30 in the final, helping India win the trophy. On October 2, 2015, Rohit scored 106 against South Africa in Dharamshala, becoming the second Indian to score centuries in all three formats. In 115 T20I matches, he has earned 13 Player of the Match awards.

Mohammad Nabi

Afghanistan veteran Mohammad Nabi leads the list of players with the most Man of the Match awards in T20Is. As the current T20I captain, Nabi has been instrumental in Afghanistan's rise in cricket. Known for his adaptability and team spirit, he has single-handedly won many matches for his country. His unparalleled experience makes him indispensable to the team. Notably, Nabi was the first Afghan player selected in the IPL auction, highlighting his immense potential. In 121 T20Is, the all-rounder has earned 14 Player of the Match awards.

Sikandar Raza

Zimbabwean cricketer Sikandar Raza ranks third in Men's T20I for the most 'Player of the Match' awards. Over his T20I career, Raza has played 78 matches and received 14 'Player of the Match' titles. The 37-year-old has been a key player for Zimbabwe, amassing 1,774 runs in T20 internationals. His consistent performances and ability to contribute significantly in crucial moments have made him one of the most valuable players in the format. Raza's achievements highlight his importance to the team and his standing in international T20 cricket.

Suryakumar Yadav

Suryakumar Yadav has played 60 T20I matches, earning the Player of the Match title in 14 of them. Known for his explosive batting, he recently showed his talent against South Africa, scoring 100 runs off just 56 balls with an impressive strike rate of 178.57. His ability to consistently deliver match-winning performances has made him a crucial player for India in the T20 format. Yadav's aggressive style and reliability under pressure highlight his value to the team, establishing his reputation as one of the top T20I players in the world.

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli, a modern-day all-format great, ranks second among players with the most Man of the Match awards in T20Is. Since his T20I debut in 2010, Virat has played 117 T20 matches for India, amassing 3,216 runs at an impressive average of 52.72. Known as India's "Run Machine," he has delivered numerous match-winning performances. Although he stepped down as T20I captain after the 2021 T20 World Cup, he remains a crucial part of the team. Remarkably, Kohli is the only player in T20 World Cup history to win consecutive Man of the Tournament awards, achieving this in the 2014 and 2016 editions. He has scored 29 fifties, with a personal best of 94*, and has earned 15 Man of the Match awards so far.

Following this record closely are maestros of the game such as David Warner(12), Shahid Afridi(11), and Sakib Al Hasan(11).