Published By: Nirtika Pandita

Do you know about the Nobel Prize winners in literature?

Nobel Prize winners in literature are great narrators for they have told some heart-touching stories.

There have for many centuries’ people who have penned serious and critical matters in the most comprehensive way won themselves Nobel Prizes. Through their words and narrations, these authors have brought to the fore some interesting stories.

Sir Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill

A British statesman, soldier, and writer, Churchill also served as Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1940 to 1945, once during the Second World War, and again from 1951 to 1955. It was during his terms as Prime Minister that he authored several books all recounting his personal experience during the war. For these works of literature, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1953. The academy was quoted, “for his mastery of historical and biographical description as well as for brilliant oratory in defending exalted human values".

Ernest Miller Hemingway

An American novelist, short-story writer, and journalist, with his strong stance, had a great influence on 20th-century fiction. The writer had a unique economical and understated style, which he termed the iceberg theory, whereas his adventurous lifestyle garnered him admiration much later. Hemingway received the Nobel Prize in Literature in October 1954, "for his mastery of the art of narrative, most recently demonstrated in The Old Man and the Sea, and for the influence that he has exerted on contemporary style".

Ivo Andrić

A Yugoslav novelist, poet, and short story writer, Ivo Andrić won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1961. The writings of the author majorly deal with life in his home country Bosnia under Ottoman rule. He won the Nobel Prize, "for the epic force with which he has traced themes and depicted human destinies drawn from the history of his country". He was Yugoslavia's only Nobel Prize-winning writer.

Doris May Lessing

She is a British-Zimbabwean novelist, known for her novels such as The Grass Is Singing, the sequence of five novels collectively called Children of Violence, five novels collectively known as Canopus in Argos: Archives, The Golden Notebook, and The Good Terrorist. In 2007 Lessing was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature and the Swedish Academy described her as "that epicist of the female experience, who with scepticism, fire and visionary power has subjected a divided civilization to scrutiny". She was the oldest person ever to receive the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Some other Nobel Prize winners in literature are Sully Prudhomme, Theodor Mommsen, Bjørnstjerne Martinius Bjørnson, José Echegaray y Eizaguirre, Frédéric Mistral, Henryk Sienkiewicz, Giosuè Carducci, Rudyard Kipling, Rudolf Christoph Eucken, Selma Lagerlöf, Paul Johann Ludwig von Heyse, Maurice Maeterlinck, Gerhart Hauptmann, Rabindranath Tagore, and Romain Rolland to name a few.