Few Places in India where even Indians need permit to visit

India is a very vast and diverse country and you will be surprised to know that there are few places India where even Indians need Inner Line Permit to visit. It’s mostly for security reasons or to protect tribal areas from illegal migrants and limit the number of tourists so that sanctity, cleanliness and security of the area will be on check.  We have compiled a list of five such places, have a look.

Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh is the eastern most state of India,due to it sharing boundary with China and Myanmar, Indian tourists need an inner line permit to visit Arunachal Pradesh. 

Arunachal Pradesh is one of the few states that requires inner line permit even for the Indian citizens to visit. Though, it’s quite an easy process to get the permit as it’s available both online and offline with a charge of mere hundred fifty rupees. With China and Myanmar sharing its border, Arunachal Pradesh falls under the restricted area list.


Mizoram is another state of the North-Eastern part of India where tourists be it Indian or foreigner needed inner line permit to visit. 

Mizoram is one of the most picturesque states in India with its lush green forests and pristine rivers. It is also a home to a large number of tribes and even Indian tourists need inner line permit to visit there. It’s mostly to maintain influx of tourists there. One can get inner line permit from Lengpui Airport, Shillong, New Delhi, Kolkata, Silchar and Guwahati.

Some Areas of Ladakh

Ladakh due to its proximity with China, falls under restricted zone and there are few places where civilians are not allowed. 

Most of us are aware that there has been dispute with China regarding some parts of Ladakh and due to security reasons there are few areas in Ladakh where civilians are not allowed due to security reasons. Don’t worry as most of the tourist places does not need any kind of permit and only few areas near the border is restricted for obvious reasons.


Nagaland along with Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram is the third state in the North-East India where Inner Line Permit (ILP) is needed for people outside of Nagaland to visit Nagaland.

An Inner Line Permit (ILP) is needed by tourists including Indian tourists also to enter Nagaland. Kohima, Dimapur, Wokha, Mokokchung, Mon, Phek  etc. are few of the well-known tourists destinations in Nagaland and  Indian tourists can obtain ILP from Deputy Commissioner of Dimapur, Kohima and Mokokchung or from tourism departments in  New Delhi, Kolkata and Shillong.

Areas of Sikkim

Sikkim shares its border with China,Nepal and Bhutan and tourists including Indians need permit to visit certain areas of Sikkim.

Sikkim was an independent monarchy before it became a part of India in the year in 1975. Tourists don’t need an ILP like Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram to visit Sikkim but there are few restricted zones like Tsomgo Lake, Nathulla, Dzongri&Goechala Trek, Yumthang, Yumesamdong, Thangu/Chopta Valley, Gurudongmar Lake where permit is needed to visit those restricted zones.

Back to top button