From Gambhir to Ponting, IPL captains who had to step down midway

With Dinesh Karthik handing the Kolkata Knight Riders’ captaincy to World Cup-winning captain Eoin Morgan in the middle of the season, we look at other such instances in IPL history.

Anil Kumble takes over from Kevin Pietersen

Struggling with his form, Anil Kumble replaced Kevin Pietersen as the captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2009. RCB ended as runners-up in 2009 under Kumble.

Virat Kohli takes over from Daniel Vettori

Daniel Vettori wasn’t at his best in 2012. This is when Virat Kohli, the current captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore, took over. Kohli has been the regular captain of RCB since then and led the team to the final in 2016.

Cameron White takes over from Kumar Sangakkara

Kumar Sangakkara, who was the skipper of Deccan Chargers in IPL 2012, was struggling with the bat. The Sri Lankan legend decided to drop himself from the team and gave the captaincy to Australia’s Cameron White.

Rohit Sharma takes over from Ricky Ponting

Ricky Ponting was struggling to even buy a run in the first few matches of IPL 2013. Ponting, who is regarded as one of the best captains to have played the game, made an admirable move of giving up captaincy. Newly-appointed captain Rohit Sharma led MI to glory in IPL 2013.

Daren Sammy takes over from Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan was in great nick for India and was made the skipper of Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014. But the left-handed batsman failed to replicate his form after getting the captaincy and the SRH management had to replace him with two-time T20 World Cup-winning skipper and West Indies all-rounder Daren Sammy.

Steve Smith takes over from Shane Watson

After the retirement of Indian legend Rahul Dravid, Shane Watson was appointed as the captain of Rajasthan Royals. Unfortunately, Watson suffered a hip injury and wasn’t available for the first few matches. The former Australian all-rounder decided to transfer the captaincy to Steve Smith.

Murali Vijay takes over from David Miller

In 2017, David Miller was Kings XI Punjab’s skipper, but after poor results, the captaincy was given to India’s Murali Vijay.

Gautam Gambhir takes over from Shreyas Iyer

IPL stalwart Gautam Gambhir failed to replicate his Kolkata Knight Riders success at Delhi in 2018 and made way for Shreyas Iyer.

Steve Smith takes over from Ajinkya Rahane

After Ajinkya Rahane struggled with the bat, former Australian captain Steve Smith took over the reins from Rahane.

Back to top button