India Legends lift maiden Road Safety World Series T20 title

That Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag were opening the batting for India Legends and the opposition Sri Lanka Legends had the likes of Nuwan Kulasekara bowling for them, the fans got strong vibes of the 2011 ODI World Cup final, which was played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

India Legends reached the final of the Road Safety World Series T20 2020-21 competition after beating West Indies legends by 12 runs in the semifinal and got the better of Sri Lanka legends by 14 runs in the final.

India legends were dealt a firm blow quite early on in their innings in the final of the Road Safety World Series T20 2020-21. Some of the memories of the iconic 2011 ODI WC final came gushing back as Virender Sehwag was dismissed early on in the piece for just 10.

Subramaniam Badrinath and Sachin Tendulkar could not last long as well and India were three down for 78 shortly after the halfway mark. It was then time for Yuvraj Singh and Yusuf Pathan to put on a display.

Yuvraj smashed 60 off 41 deliveries, blasting 8 deliveries either to the boundary or over it in an innings that was played at a strike rate of 146.34 Yusuf Pathan, who remained unbeaten at the end, was even more explosive for his 62 runs which came off just 36 deliveries.

Pathan struck 4 fours and 5 sixes while batting at a strike rate of 172.22 to take India to 181 for four at the end of their 20 overs.

Farveez Maharoof was the most impressive bowler for Sri Lanka and gave away just 16 runs from his four overs while picking up the crucial wicket of Tendulkar .

During the chase, the Pathan brothers, Yusuf and Irfan, bowled some tight overs and shared four wickets between them. While Yusuf conceded 26 runs at an economy rate of 6.50, Irfan gave away 29 runs from his four hours at an economy rate of 7.25 and did not allow the Sri Lankan batsman to get away, despite some Sanath Jayasuriya getting them off to a brisk start with 43 off 35 balls.

Chinthaka Jayasinghe and Kaushalya Weeraratne did stitch together a partnership but as it always seemed, Sri Lanka fell short of the target by 14 runs as India lifted their maiden Road Safety World Series T20 title.

Back to top button