IPL: Emerging Player of the Year winners from 2008 to 2019

Known by different names previously, the Emerging Player of the Year award is given to the most promising player in the IPL since 2014.

The eligibility for the award is that the player should be less than 25 years of age, should have played less than 5 test matches/20 ODIs/25 IPL matches and should not have won the 'Emerging Player of the Year' previously.

Shreevats Goswami - 2008

Bengal wicket-keeper batsman Shreevats Goswami was a part of the 2008 Under-19 World Cup-winning squad and was picked up by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). He was selected as the top performer amongst the Under-19 players and was given the 'Best Under-19 player' award.

Rohit Sharma - 2009

In the 2009 season of the IPL, Rohit Sharma added 362 runs at an average of 27.84 and helped Deccan Chargers win their only title in the league. It earned him the 'Best Under-23 Player' award.

SaurabhTiwary - 2010

SaurabhTiwary received the IPL 'Rising Star of the Year' award in 2010 as part of the Mumbai Indians setup, after he scored 419 runs at an average of almost 30 and a strike rate of 135.59.

Iqbal Abdulla - 2011

The highest wicket-taker for India in the 2008 Under-19 World Cup, Iqbal Abdulla picked up 16 wickets at an average of 19.06 and an economy rate of only 6.1 for KKR in 2011.

Mandeep Singh - 2012

Mandeep Singh aggregated 432 runs in 2012 to win the IPL 2012 "Rising Star of the Year".

Sanju Samson - 2013

Sanju Samson was picked up by Rajasthan Royals (RR) for the 2013 season of the IPL and delivered with 206 runs from 11 matches for the franchise.

Axar Patel - 2014

Playing for Kings XI Punjab, Axar Patel picked up 17 wickets at an economy of only 6.13.

ShreyasIyer - 2015

In 2015, ShreyasIyer scored 439 runs for Delhi Capitals with four four fifties.

Mustafizur Rahman - 2016

Mustafizur Rahman was roped in by Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and claimed 17 wickets at an economy rate of just 6.9 in 2016.

Basil Thampi - 2017

Basil Thampi bagged only 11 wickets in 12 matches in IPL 2017 but impressed with his ability to bowl yorkers at pace.

Rishabh Pant - 2018

With 684 runs from 14 innings at an average of 52.61 and a strike rate of 173.6, Rishabh Pant starred in 2018.

Shubman Gill - 2019

The player of the tournament at the 2018 Under-19 World Cup, Shubman Gill scored 296 runs from 14 innings at an average of 32.88 and a strike rate of 124.36 in IPL 2019.