IPL implosions: Lowest totals in tournament's history

IPL is known for sumptuous boundaries and towering sixes, but there are occasions when even the best in the business fail.

Here's a list of the lowest totals in IPL's history:

49 - Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders (2017)

Royal Challengers Bangalore, who have cracked some of the highest totals in Indian Premier League history, also hold the unwanted record of having the lowest total to their name. Batting collapses are common when chasing a huge total, and the batsmen perish in a bid to up the ante. However, RCB's 49-run total came in a modest 132-run chase against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Virat Kohli, who is generally the saviour for Bangalore, was dismissed for a first-ball duck on the third ball of the run chase and it was all downhill for RCB from thereon.

The team was bowled out for 49 runs in 9.4 overs at the Eden Gardens on April 23, 2017, with Kedar Jadhav being the top scorer with 9 runs. With Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Woakes and Colin de Grandhomme picking up three wickets each, no RCB batsman could reach double figures and suffered an 82-run loss.

58 - Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (2009)

When Rajasthan Royals imploded for just 58 against Royal Challengers Bangalore at Cape Town on April 18, 2009, RR not only registered the lowest IPL total of the time but also recorded the second lowest total in T20 history.

Anil Kumble starred with 5/5 from 3.1 overs for RCB as Rajasthan crashed to 58 all out in 15.1 overs while chasing a 134-run target. Only Tyron Henderson, Yusuf Pathan and Ravindra Jadeja could reach double figures for Rajasthan as they were handed a crushing 75-run defeat.

66 - Delhi Daredevils vs Mumbai Indians (2017)

Delhi Daredevils' (now called Delhi Capitals) submission for just 66 in an IPL 2017 match against Mumbai Indians was understandable. Chasing a 213-run target, Delhi batters did not have any option but to go hell for leather for them to have a fair chance of chasing down the total.

In the match played at the Feroz Shah Kotla on May 6, 2017, Harbhajan Singh and Karn Sharma bagged three wickets each to break the back of the Delhi batting order and seal a 146-run victory for Mumbai. Delhi's attempt failed badly as Karun Nair top scored for them with a 21-run knock.