Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.

IPL: Orange cap winners from 2008 to 2019

The 13th edition of the Indian Premier League may have moved to the UAE, but with the league played in India for most of its existence, runs have always been aplenty.

Here’s a look at the orange cap winners in the first 12 editions of the IPL:

It was Shaun Marsh who had the honour of becoming the first batsman to win the orange cap in the inaugural edition of IPL. Playing for Kings XI Punjab, the Australian scored 616 runs and helped his side reach the semi-finals.

Matthew Hayden, who represented Chennai Super Kings in 2009 finished atop the batting charts. Flaying his mongoose bat, Hayden scored a total of 572 runs from 12 matches. The Aussie opener struck five half-centuries at an average of 52.00.

Master blaster Sachin Tendulkar caught up in the 3rd edition. He starred for Mumbai Indians, scoring 618 runs in IPL 2010. Courtesy of Tendulkar’s 618 runs, Mumbai ended the season as runners-up.

Chris Gayle, playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011, earned the first of his two IPL orange caps. Gayle bossed the 4th season of IPL with 608 runs from 12 matches and terrorised the bowlers to no end.

Gayle repeated his heroics for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2012 as well and aggregated 733 runs in that season. The brawny batsman smashed 59 sixes in the 2012 season of the IPL as well.

Michael Hussey showed that the mind can also take precedence over muscle, even in the IPL. Representing Chennai Super Kings in 2013, Hussey scored 733 runs from 16 matches.

Kolkata Knight Riders’ Robin Uthappa stepped up to the occasion in 2014. His tally of 660 runs not only helped him earn the orange cap but were crucial in helping KKR to win the title.

David Warner, who has now become the face of Sunrisers Hyderabad, began his golden run in 2015. Warner took Sunrisers Hyderabad to their first IPL title in 2016 with 562 runs.

Virat Kohli established his dominance for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2016. Kohli still holds the record for the highest run scorer in a single season of the IPL, which he set in 2016 by blasting 973 runs from 16 matches.

David Warner was back in business for Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2017, cracking 641 runs in the 10th season of IPL, on the back of his exploits in 2016.

In Warner’s absence, Kane Williamson emerged as Sunrisers Hyderabad’s saviour in 2018, smashing 735 runs from 17 matches at an average of 52.50.

Warner won his 3rd orange cap in IPL 2019 as he blasted 692 runs from just 12 matches, with the best of 100*.

Back to top button