Longest Appearance Droughts in FIFA World Cup

Italy may have missed the recent two World Cup editions. However, there are some nations that have not appeared in the World Cup for years

Italy did not qualify for the 2018 World Cup edition and will not play in the upcoming edition of the 2022 World Cup. However, some nations have not appeared in the World Cup for years. In this article, we have listed the longest appearance droughts in the FIFA World Cup.

Cuba and Indonesia, one appearance only

Cuba has played in the World Cup only one time, and that was in the year 1938. Since then, the nation has failed to appear in 19 consecutive World Cup editions. Indonesia too played their only World Cup in 1938 and, given the nation’s present footballing scenario, they are unlikely to play soon.

Will Wales qualify for the 2022 World Cup?

Wales is set to play either Ukraine or Scotland in a World Cup qualifier play-off. If they win, they will play in the World Cup after 64 years. Their last appearance was in 1958 when they reached the quarter-final but lost the game to Brazil.

Israel’s long drought

Israel is not a major football-playing nation and therefore, their long disappearance from the World Cup is not a shock to us. Their last appearance in the tournament was in 1970; their sole appearance.

Congo DR has missed 12 consecutive World Cups

Congo DR made its debut in the 1974 World Cup and since then, they have not played a second World Cup. That year, Haiti also made their World Cup debut but they are yet to appear in another edition.

El Salvador and Kuwait

The two lesser-known nations made their World Cup debut in 1982, but that was the end of their story in the tournament. Since 1982, they have not played in another edition of the FIFA World Cup.

Hungary and Iraq, 1986

Hungary was once a footballing powerhouse in the 1950s, and the nation was responsible for revolutionising the game. However, the nation’s footballing prowess slowly faded and their last World Cup appearance was in 1986. That year, Iraq made its World Cup debut, but after 1986, Iraq never played another edition.

Northern Ireland 

In 1958, Northern Ireland made their World Cup debut with a quarter-final finish. They also played in the 1982 and 1986 World Cups, but after 1986, they never reached the last-32 of another edition.

Rohit Chatterjee

An alumnus of the Indian Institute of Journalism and New Media, Rohit Chatterjee is a bona fide moto-enthusiast who has worked with several media houses in his brief career. Chatterjee mostly writes features and news articles related to automobiles and motorsports. When not working, he is found on the interstate clocking over 100kmph on his NS200!
Back to top button