Maximum Appearances by Nations in FIFA World Cup

In the history of the FIFA World Cup, only one nation has appeared in all the FIFA World Cup editions

The FIFA World Cup was first held in 1930 and in November 2022, the organisation will hold the 22nd edition of the tournament. Since 1930, only one nation has played in all the editions of the World Cup and in the upcoming edition, that nation will appear for the 22nd time. In short, that nation holds the record of maximum appearances in the World Cup. Who are they? Scroll down to find out!

What is the importance of this article?

Winning the FIFA World Cup is the greatest achievement for any football-playing nation. However, qualifying in the tournament is also a massive achievement because every year, many countries fight each other in the qualifying stages. Therefore, this article is a tribute to those nations that made it to the tournament the maximum number of times.

Brazil, five-time FIFA World Cup winner

Which team has appeared in all the 21 editions and will play in the 22nd edition? It is Brazil; the only country with this unique record. Since 1930, no World Cup has taken place without Brazil. In short, Brazil means World Cup because after all, they also won the trophy the maximum number of times.

Germany did not register in 1930

Germany could have shared the record with Brazil, but the nation did not register for the 1930 edition, whereas, in 1950, they were not allowed to play because the famous war had just ended. Therefore, Germany so far has appeared in 19 editions and will play their 20th World Cup in November 2022 in Qatar. In terms of trophies, they have four.

Argentina will play their 18th World Cup

The upcoming edition of the FIFA World Cup will be Argentina’s 18th appearance in the tournament. The South American nation failed to qualify in 1938, 1950, 1954 and 1970. However, Argentine superstar Diego Maradona led the team to the trophy twice. In 2014, the nation under Messi’s leadership reached the final but lost to Götze’s late goal.

What a mayhem for Italy?!

Four-time World Cup winner Italy could not qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup. Not to forget, they will also miss the upcoming edition because of their recent loss to North Macedonia. The first team to win the trophy two times in a row, Italy has appeared in 18 World Cups so far.

Rohit Chatterjee

An alumnus of the Indian Institute of Journalism and New Media, Rohit Chatterjee is a bona fide moto-enthusiast who has worked with several media houses in his brief career. Chatterjee mostly writes features and news articles related to automobiles and motorsports. When not working, he is found on the interstate clocking over 100kmph on his NS200!
Back to top button