Most Euro Cup Winning Nations

So far, as many as 10 nations have picked up the trophy of the prestigious Euro Cup

The Euro Cup is one of the most prestigious tournaments in the world that is contested on the European continent. Every four years, the tournament is conducted and the winning nation of the tournament is declared the champion of Europe. So far, as many as 10 nations have picked up the trophy of the prestigious Euro Cup. Out of those 10 nations, a few nations have won the trophy on numerous occasions. In this feature, we look at the nations with the highest number of Euro Cup trophies.

Germany- The German team has always been a dominating force in international tournaments and we are not surprised that they have won the Euro Cup the highest number of times. The ‘Die Mannschaft’ picked up the trophies in 1972, 1980 and 1996. They also finished as runner-up on three occasions in 1976, 1992 and 2008.

Spain- Spain is another fierce team in the world that has won the Euro Cup on three occasions. However, they are placed second because they ended up as the runner-up nation on only one occasion. Spain earned the Euro Cup in 1964, 2008, and 2012. Their runner up season was in 1984. To date, Spain is the only nation to win the Euro Cup twice in a row.

France- The current World Cup holding nation France has two Euro Cup trophies to their name. The French team’s first victory came in 1984 and their second victory arrived 16 years later in 2000. In 2016, they ended up as the runner-upnation. In the final match, France lost to Portugal. However, in 2019, they achieved the FIFA World Cup trophy.

Russia- Not a formidable side but Russia’s performance in the Euro Cup has been commendable. The nation won their only trophy in 1960 but they finished as the runner-up nation on three occasions (1964, 1972 and 1988).

Italy- The FIFA World Cup-winning nation has failed to do wonders in the Euro Cup. In the tournament’s history, Italy has touched the trophy only once in the year 1968. In 2000 and 2012, they finished as the runner-up country.

Remaining nations (one time)- The other nations who have won the trophy once are Portugal, Greece, Denmark, Czech Republic and the Netherlands.

Back to top button